Many people don’t like the taste of regular black coffee. For instance, try sipping your coffee within a specific time period rather than periodically throughout the day. Black coffee has an average pH of 5. One or two cups a day, and following a healthy home dental care routine helps contain adverse dental effects. Experts suggest avoiding coffee and other caffeinated beverage four hours before bedtime to prevent these problems. Anytime your mouth goes below a pH of 5.5 it shifts the balance in your mouth from enamel building to enamel breakdown. The goal for us is to gain and maintain proper health and function for our community. As a dentist, I can tell almost immediately if someone is a regular coffee drinker. Do that and you’ve probably lost the anti-bacterial effects of the coffee. Most importantly, you should see your dentist at least twice a year to clean and examine your teeth to help them stay strong and healthy. Black coffee has an average pH of 5. We want to do more than just make you smile… we want to help serve you in all areas of your dental health from cleanings to reconstructive dentistry and everything in between. Insurance companies work with many dental clinics and may offer insurance plan packages for scale and polish treatments. Some types of stains on teeth are very superficial. This basically means that they all secrete sticky substances that help them attach to each other and to your teeth. It goes along with a lot of what I’ve seen personally as a dentist. They aren’t quite sure exactly what in coffee is responsible for this but the results are promising. Bacteria leads to enamel erosion and causes the teeth to become thin and brittle exposing the dentin as discussed above. There are also some foods you could eat that will help to neutralize acid levels and restore a more neutral pH to your mouth. Brushing and flossing your teeth thirty minutes after the acids have stabilized in your mouth will also ward off damage to your teeth. The thick