After reading Mr Collins book, I think the best way to beat the market is actually riding along with the overall market. Hi i am in a very similar situation to you as im a UK resident and looking to start out on this indexing jounrey. UK Tax Return, Double tax relief claim introduction in United Kingdom. Vanguard Life Strategy funds are low-cost, one-stop-shop portfolios that provide broad exposure across geographies and asset classes. ***************************************************. 1. If you live here in the USA, read it and appreciate just how easy and inexpensive the options we have here are. Which fund you choose will depend upon your risk appetite and time horizon. Google is your friend. I quite literally had no idea blogs could or did have larger readerships. There’s no guarantee that the US markets will, as a whole, continue to outperform. How much money can a foreigner transfer out of China? As a European investor, I am very happy I came across this article and this blog, and for sure from now I will be visiting it daily. And the best news is it’s not difficult at all. However, that depends on your country’s dividend tax treaty with the U.S. My country has a cool deal with the U.S. and thus my dividends will be charged with a 15% withholding tax instead of 30%. I’m a US resident (only for tax purposes) and currently own VTSAX. 5. The median for 100% percent equity (stock) portfolio is 4.1%. I wrote a detailed article about this strategy. This is why non-us stocks performing so bad. See, the U.S. government will charge up to 30% dividend withholding tax. 6. In the UK the ISA is the Tax Free Account (free from dividend, interest and CGT) with an annual limit of 20k, whereas the GIA is taxed on dividends, interest and CGT regardless of whether or not I were to choose income or accumulation units. In Belgium there are NO taxes on capital gains Amazing, isn’t it ? They allow you to invest in several currencies and have a wide range of broad based global inde