Knit fabrics should not fray so those clothing items made out of that fabric do not need to have their seams finished. For best results, use on straight not curved seams. Learn how to make and use bias tape. The machine overcast stitch with a twist, » How to Finish Sleeve Seams Easily (5 Helpful Tips), Does Wool Burn? Notes from the Runway: Spring 2020 Haute Couture, Get Pink! This makes it ideal for children’s clothes. This is a stitch that I learned about during my research for this post. The end result is exactly like the French seam except that there is some stitching you will see. I'm Heather Lou, a pattern designer and sewing educator for the modern maker. There are two methods of zig-zag stitching you can do. It would be tricky to use this method with really lightweight fabric and would work better with medium weight fabric. When that is done, remove the basting stitches. i am still learning about seam finishes and this is a great post! Which is your favorite way to finish a seam? When I first started sewing knits I didn’t finish them because it helped me enjoy sewing more to skip that extra step. Diagonal basting stitches: You can work these stitches in either direction depending on whether you’re a lefty or righty, or how you want to hold the fabric. How to sew a hand overcast seam finish. Learn how to hand sew a seam that has ripped with this easy step-by-step tutorial that even a beginner can handle. This month on the blog we’ve been talking about couture sewing. So you can see, sewing seams and finishing them are not that difficult. Please confirm that you want to subscribe: You can unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of our emails. You may want to narrow the seam allowance when you use this machine. Use a straight stitch or backstitch to begin sewing another seam. It would be really fun to use bright, contrasting fabric inside of a jacket for a pop of color. How to Dye Clothing & Fabric with Avocados. After that, you just trim awa